Directory met een wachtwoord beschermen in Plesk

Password-protecting a directory is a useful tool to limit access to files or folders in your account to allowed users only. Often, this is used by Plesk account holders to give access privileges only to their members.

To use this utility in Plesk, here is a step-by-step guide:

Klik hier voor de video

1. Login to your Plesk account.

2. In the main Plesk control panel, click the “Directories” icon under the “Hosting” category.

3. The “Protected Directories” page should appear shortly listing all the currently protected directories in the account. If there are no password-protected directories in the account, the list would simply be empty.

4. To create a password-protected directory, first click the “Add New Directory” icon.

5. Then enter the name of the directory that you wish to protect in the text field labeled “Directory Name.”

6. If the directory that you entered does not exist, Plesk will create this folder and protect it.

7. Then, enter the header text in the “Header Text” field. The “header text” is the message that will display in the title bar whenever users are prompted for their username and password while accessing the said directory.

8. Click the “OK” button when you are done with the previous steps.

9. After the password-protected directory has been successfully created, you should then create at least one user who can access the said location.

10. To do this, click the “Add New User’ icon.

11. Choose a username and password for this user.

12. Confirm the password by re-entering it in the provided text field. This step is necessary to avoid any spelling errors on your part.

13. Click the “OK” button when you are done with the previous steps.

14. The new user has been successfully added if the name of the user appears in the list. This user can then access the files or pages of the directory by simply keying in his/her username and password whenever prompted.

15. You can also add more users who can access the pages or files in the password-protected directory you created. To do so, simply repeat the same process.

16. You can also delete users by selecting the name of the user and clicking the “Remove selected” link. The user is then successfully removed if the name is immediately taken out of the list.

17. Next, click the “Protected Directories” link at the upper left-hand corner of the right column. You will then be directed to the “Protected Directories” main page where you can also remove the password protection of a specified directory.

18. Just select the name of the directory and click the “Remove Selected” link.

19. Confirm the removal.

20. Then click the “OK” button to proceed with the action. Remember that by removing the protection of any directory does not remove the directory itself.

Our Solutions

Service

Social Link